Join us

What is Stronger Than Hate?

Lessons from Testimony, Media and Scholarship

Free Online Event 
April 27, 2021 @ 3:00 pm | Free Online Event

3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT/ 8:00 AM AEST (+1)

The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy and the Institute of Politics at Harvard Kennedy School, and the USC Shoah Foundation, invite you to join Harvard President Lawrence S. Bacow and University of Southern California President Carol Folt for an event celebrating Harvard University’s subscription to USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive, making making 55,000 testimonies of genocide survivors and witnesses available to the Harvard community.

Opening Remarks:
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
University of Southern California President Carol Folt

Panel Discussion: Media scholars and experts on how to combat the rise of hate and the disinformation that spreads it.

How can we learn from lessons of the past to stop hate movements today? What role does the media play in stopping the spread of hateful ideologies? How are disinformation and media manipulation used as tools by extremist groups and individuals? How do current civil rights movements, like Black Lives Matter and Stop AAPI Hate, combat hateful ideologies today?

The panel will include:

  • Marty Baron, Former Executive Editor of The Washington Post
  • Cornell William Brooks, JD, Professor of Practice at Harvard Kennedy School and former President & CEO of the NAACP
  • Joan Donovan, PhD, Research Director of the Shorenstein Center and scholar of disinformation and networked hate groups
  • Stephen Smith, PhD, Finci-Viterbi Exec. Director of USC Shoah Foundation, UNESCO Chair of Genocide Education
  • Nancy Gibbs (Moderator), Director of the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy and former Managing Editor of TIME.
Details:
Start: April 27, 2021 / 3:00 PM
Cost: Free Online Event
price: Free Online Event