Join us

Confronting Antisemitism

Activating Archives, Libraries & Museums

October 17, 2021 @ 10:00 am

10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET

Presented by jMUSE and The Center for Jewish History.

As trusted public institutions with diverse audiences, how can archives, libraries, museums, and cultural institutions use their unique strengths to combat antisemitism and create lasting change? This critical question will be at the core of the Confronting Antisemitism symposium. 

Finci-Viterbi Executive Director Stephen Smith leads one of seven panels in this unprecedented, public, international gathering of cultural leaders, scholars, and experts who will offer cutting-edge analysis and strategies; identify a landscape of possible initiatives and actions; and galvanize the community.

Symposium topics range from museum perspectives on modern-day antisemitism, Holocaust denial and revisionism in public institutions, to examining the sources of antisemitism and the dangers it poses to a free society. More than 20 experts from universities, archives, libraries, and museums around the world will participate in the online, half-day conference and help encourage a global conversation about the impact and lasting relevance of antisemitism.

Register Today

Conference website: https://new.cjh.org/antisemitism/ 

Session 4 (12:15 PM PT / 3:15 PM ET)

Holocaust Remembrance and the Study of Antisemitism: The Power and Potential of Public Dialogue

Moderated by Dr. Stephen D. Smith
Finci-Viterbi Endowed Executive Director, USC Shoah Foundation

Panelists:

Susan Abrams
CEO, Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center

Mary Pat Higgins
President & CEO, Dallas Holocaust and Human Rights Museum

Tali Nates
Founder and Director, Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre

Dr. Toby Simpson
Director, The Wiener Holocaust Library, London

Fr. Patrick Desbois
President, Yahad – In Unum

Details:
Start: October 17, 2021 / 10:00 AM