Join us

Discover Your Family History

Ancestry® and JewishGen.org Unlock the Power of Testimony Metadata

September 16, 2020 @ 3:00 pm

September 16 at 3 pm PDT/6 pm EDT/September 17 8 am AEST

On September 16 at 3 pm PDT/6 pm EDT/September 17 8 am AEST, join USC Shoah Foundation Finci-Viterbi Executive Director Stephen D. Smith and an expert panel of special guests for a webinar to learn more about tracing family history through Ancestry® and Jewish Gen. Confirmed speakers include:

Crista Cowan, Corporate Genealogist, Ancestry.com 

A professional genealogist since 2002, Crista joined Ancestry in 2004. In this capacity, she teaches at genealogy conferences and events around the world. A founding member of the Utah Valley chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists and board member of the International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies, she also produces and is featured in "The Barefoot Genealogist" on YouTube.

Avraham Groll, Executive Director, JewishGen.org

Avraham Groll has been with JewishGen since 2008, and is passionate about connecting people with their Jewish roots, and helping them experience what it means to be part of the Jewish people.  Avraham is a frequent lecturer on a variety of genealogical and historical topics and also serves on the board of the International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies.

Sandra L. Malek, President, The Jewish Genealogical Society of Los Angeles

Sandra L. Malek, a retired attorney, has been president of the Jewish Genealogical Society of Los Angeles since 2007. After years of transcribing information for a number of sites, notably JewishGen.org’s Hungarian database, and Ancestry.com, Sandy became the Coordinator of the Maramaros Vital Records database, a part of the JewishGen.org database.

E. Randol Schoenberg, The Jewish Genealogical Society of Los Angeles

E. Randol Schoenberg is an attorney known for the recovery of Nazi-looted Klimt paintings, as recounted in the film Woman in Gold (2015). He is a board member of JewishGen.org, and the author of the Beginner’s Guide to Austrian-Jewish Genealogy and Getting Started with Czech-Jewish Genealogy.

The searchable Visual History Archive® (VHA) information includes records with names, birth dates, death dates, relatives and more for the interviewee and those they mentioned. The data includes information on more than 600,000 additional relatives and other individuals found in survivor questionnaires.

Download Online Resources One Sheet

 

 

Details:
Start: September 16, 2020 / 3:00 PM