International Conference Moves Online to Commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the Srebrenica Genocide

Mon, 07/13/2020 - 4:24pm

This past Saturday marked twenty-five years since the Srebrenica genocide, the biggest in a cluster of massacres that occurred as part of the campaign of “ethnic cleansing” in eastern parts of Bosnia during the 1992-1995 war in the country.

On this occasion, the Srebrenica Memorial Center organized a series of events, including an international conference entitled “Denial and Triumphalism: Origins, Impact, and Prevention” that took place on July 10. This virtual conference, which was part of the official commemoration of the genocide, addressed the rise in institutional denial of genocide and other crimes in Bosnia-Herzegovina and ways to counter it.

The conference gathered a significant number of esteemed scholars of genocide, journalists, and former government officials.

USC Shoah Foundation’s Finci-Viterbi Executive Director Dr. Stephen D. Smith was one of the participants. Dr. Smith spoke about the importance of testimony for the documentation, research, and education about the past.

You can watch the full conference online.

Monday, July 20, 2020 - 11:00am Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Monday, 20 July 2020 at 11:00 AM PDT | 12:00 PM MDT | 2:00 PM EDT | | 8:00 PM CEST |4:00 AM AEST (Tuesday, 21 July)

In the twenty-five years since genocide took place in the Bosnian city of Srebrenica, several projects have been initiated to document survivors’ experiences, including a more recent collaboration between the Srebrenica-Potočari Memorial Center and the War Childhood Museum in Sarajevo.

Join the Institute's Finci-Viterbi Executive Director Stephen D. Smith and guest speakers as they discuss the significance of testimony collection projects for the memorialization of and research about the Srebrenica genocide. Guest speakers include Dr. Emir Suljagić, the Srebrenica Memorial Center director, Hasan Hasanović, a genocide survivor and curator at the Srebrenica Memorial Center, Almasa Salihović, a genocide survivor, and Dr. Badema Pitic, VHA Research Officer at the Institute's Center for Advanced Genocide Research.

Center for Advanced Genocide Research Event 21196 70 28371 28366 28361
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 - 12:15pm
srebenica_1.jpg
USC Shoah Foundation
TAGS: