Our mission is to develop empathy, understanding and respect through testimony.
Through our research and educational programs, the Institute harnesses the power of its archive of personal testimonies from witnesses to genocide in order to do our part to build a better world. (Photo: Edith Umugiraneza, a survivor of the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda; and George Weiss, a Holocaust survivor.)
Upcoming Events
16
Jul
Connecting Communities: "Big Sonia" - A Special Conversation With Director Leah Warshawski
1:00 PM PDT | 4:00 PM EDT | 6:00 AM AEST 17 July This webinar is developed for an educator, university, and community member audience. It is not intended for K-12 students.…
  • July 16, 2020
23
Jul
Comic Con - “Art and the Holocaust”
Start Time: 10:00 am PDT/1:00 pm EDT/6:00 pm GMT …
  • July 23, 2020
27
Jul
Making It Work: Tools For Effective Holocaust Education Online
1:00 PDT | 4:00 EDT | 6:00 AM AEST 28 July 1 Hour 15 minutes This webinar is developed for an educator, university, and community member audience. It is not intended for K-12 students.…
  • July 27, 2020
Latest News
June 19, also known as Juneteenth, commemorates the day in 1865 when slavery ended in America - more than two years after the Emancipation Proclamation was issued by President Lincoln. It is a day of commemoration and celebration of African American history and heritage, but also a day of reflection.
Friday, June 19, 2020 - 7:36am
USC Shoah Foundation mourns the loss of Luke Holland who passed away this week, a transformative figure in the field of historical documentation and a dear friend of the Institute. “Luke guided us all to face our pasts—to face our fears—as pathway to living a more informed, peaceful life,” said Stephen Smith, Finci-Viterbi Executive Director of USC Shoah Foundation.
Friday, June 12, 2020 - 11:42am
We mourn the murder of George Floyd and join the outcry for justice in his name. He is now linked to countless others who have suffered systemic violence, injustice and hate perpetrated against African Americans throughout a 400-year history in this nation. This legacy and manifestation of hate is still present today.
Monday, June 1, 2020 - 9:44pm
Storytelling
My grandmother, Hana, taught me to be alone, to be able to sit in my space and observe all around. She taught me to describe what I see — the stacks of history books, cards sent from friends, photos of my family, vinyls stacked high, and the flowers from my last trip to the grocery store. She taught me to take an interest in the simple parts of life and to find symbolism and comfort in the mundane.
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - 12:36pm
Together We Are Stronger Than Hate
Stronger Than Hate, an initiative that draws on the power of eyewitness testimony to help students and the general public recognize and counter antisemitism, racism, xenophobia and other forms of hatred.
Our 2018 Annual Impact Report is Available
See how your support helped us make a measurable change.
You can help us make a difference
Our education programs bring the voices of survivors into classrooms, impacting future generations to build a better world based on empathy, understanding and respect.